Force India has had more than a change of ownership.

It has a new name too — but it has lost all the points it had in the championship.

The former Vijay Mallya-owned team’s name has been officially changed to Race Point Force India and it has been granted entry in Formula One by the FIA.

While it’s a setback for the Silverstone-based outfit’s progress this season, where it was in sixth spot, it’s a relief that drivers Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon will retain their points in the driver’s standings.

Force India was sent into administration after an astute legal move by Perez, which secured the jobs of all 400 employees.

The team was then bought by a consortium led by billionaire Lawrence Stroll, which decided to re-brand it as Race Point Force India.

Team principal Otmar Szafnauer said the move opened a new chapter for the team which was ‘delighted’ to be able to race when the championship resumes in Belgium this weekend.

FIA president Jean Todt said he was pleased a strong, positive outcome had been reached and welcome the mid-season entry of Racing Point Force India.

As the team starts from zero now, it at least won’t be exiting mid-season and will still remain one of the more competitive outfits on the grid.